First Camp of '08 Announced

The United States Soccer Federation today unveiled a list of the 26 players invited to the first U.S. National Team camp of the New Year. Head coach Bob Bradley's choices were again heavily domestic, owing to the fact that the Jan. 19 friendly against Sweden at the Home Depot Center does not fall on an international fixture date. Twenty-three MLS players were named to the roster, with three Scandinavian players completing the inaugural 2008 squad.
A few notes on the roster:

- Houston Dynamo midfielder Ricardo Clark was among those named to the roster. Should he see action on January 19th, it would be his first competitive soccer played since the end of September, when he received an MLS-record nine-game suspension for violently kicking FC Dallas forward Carlos Ruiz during a melee in the box on a set piece. Clark has made 10 appearances for the Nats, recording his first-ever goal for the senior squad in July against Paraguay in this past summer's Copa America.

- Six different players will be looking to secure their first career cap: Clarence Goodson, Will Hesmer, Matt Pickens, Eddie Robinson, Zach Wells and Jeremiah White. Eleven others have earned fewer than five caps, highlighting the youthful inexperience of Bradley's selections.

- Landon Donovan should be in line to make appearance #97 for his country, and will take over sole position of first place on the U.S. career scoring charts with his next goal, which would be the 35th of his already-impressive international career.

- MLS Rookie of the Year Maurice Edu, Goalkeeper of the Year Brad Guzan, and Defender of the Year Michael Parkhurst are also among the invitees.


Full roster by position:

GK: Brad Guzan (Chivas USA), Will Hesmer (Columbus Crew), Matt Pickens (Chicago Fire), Zach Wells (D.C. United)

DEF: Dan Califf (Aalborg BK), Jimmy Conrad (KC Wizards), Ramiro Corrales (SK Brann), Todd Dunivant (Toronto FC), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Drew Moor (FC Dallas), Michael Parkhurst (NE Revolution), Eddie Robinson (Houston Dynamo), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC)

MF: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Maurice Edu (Toronto FC), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Justin Mapp (Chicago Fire), Pat Noonan (NE Revolution)

FW: Josmer Altidore (NY Red Bulls), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (KC Wizards), Chris Rolfe (Chicago Fire), Taylor Twellman (NE Revolution), Jeremiah White (AGF Aarhus)

No comments: